Back-to-Basics

Forget Converse*, I’m all about the under-appreciated plain-old white plimsoll these days. An absolute staple for a back-to-basics hassle-free wardrobe, the plimsoll is a comfortable and stylish addition to any shoe-cupboard (or drawer in my case).

For a while now I’ve been coming to the realisation that basic is best when it comes to a wardrobe that doesn’t have you tearing your hair out at 7.30am every morning, trying to find a suitable yet stylish outfit for the office. Clean lines and block colours are where it’s at for me at the moment when it comes to dressing for work, and these simple white plimsolls are perfect for those days when I can’t be bothered with even the tiniest of heels.

WIN_20150716_172850Yes, putting them on may bring back a few memories of primary school PE lessons and coming last in the egg and spoon race on sports day at first, but I quite like their retro look, and the fact that I don’t have to concern myself with which brand I’m wearing. For all anyone knows these could have cost a fortune, but as it happens, they were a mere ten quid from eBay.

Being basic doesn’t have to mean being un-stylish. In fact, when I flick through fashion magazines it’s often the most uncomplicated outfits that I lust after the most. Team with rolled up skinny jeans, and an oversized blouse, or with a floral summer dress, and you’ve got an understated yet chic look any day of the week.

*Sorry Converse, you’re not really forgotten. You will come out of the shoe drawer again soon. I promise.

Leave a Reply

