Utility Duster? Yes Sir!

I’ve done a bit of shopping this month (no surprises there!), and there’s some great stuff available in stores and online as the high-street makes its transition into Autumn.

I’ve been looking for a good trench coat for months now, and had my heart set on khaki, but everything I’d seen up until now had either been the wrong fabric, wrong length, or lacking in details such as a storm flap, belt, or decent fastening.

Just when I’d lost all hope, this gorgeous utility duster from Warehouse came along. Warehouse call this a duster, but it my eyes this is definitely more like a trench coat.

Utility Duster, Warehouse, £79
Utility Duster, Warehouse, £79

At £79* this isn’t cheap, but it’s certainly worth the investment. The fabric is beautifully soft, and the cut is perfect. The curved hem gives this jacket a flattering shape, and even though this sits a little longer on me than it does on the model on the Warehouse website as I’m petite, I think the length still looks great, and it doesn’t swamp me like jackets of this length can tend to. Simple details such as zip pockets, press-stud fastening and a D-ring belt keep this jacket looking classic but with a modern edge.

WIN_20150822_093144
Utility duster, Warehouse; T-shirt, Zara; Treggings, Uniqlo; Loafers, Zara

WIN_20150822_093200

I’m very pleased with this, and as a good trench coat never goes out of fashion, I can see myself wearing this for years to come.

*Top tip: The September issue of UK Elle magazine comes with an ASOS 20% discount card which I used to buy this, as ASOS stock a lot of Warehouse products as well as offering free delivery and returns.

Leave a Reply

