Charity Shop Style: Part 3

Prints and Florals

My three most recent charity shop purchases have had a bit of a theme. I seem to have gone for prints and flowy tops/dresses. As much as I love my basics, I can never resist a pretty print, and these three items (for a grand total of £3.99) certainly fit the bill.WIN_20150920_111439

First up is this Hearts & Bows smock top, found for £1.99. It’s probably meant to be worn as a dress, but it’s a bit short for my liking, so I decided to pair it with skinny jeans instead. I remember back in the late 90s/early 00s that dresses over trousers was a ‘thing’ for a while, and I think it can still work! It certainly gives this otherwise mini-dress a ‘grown up’ look.

WIN_20150920_111351

Next, I found this F&F top for £1. I loved the almost watercolour like print, and the fit is quite flattering. The drawstring at the bottom is a nice touch too.

WIN_20150920_112025

WIN_20150920_112008

Finally (saving the best until last) is this M&S Autograph boho style floral print dress, again for just £1! You may think M&S is just for your Grandma, but I’ve found myself shopping there recently, particularly their Limited collection.

WIN_20150920_112422

Although not quite ‘this season’ colours, when I put this dress on it reminded me of the 70s boho dresses that are everywhere at the moment, with its wide sleeves and flowy smock-like cut. I love the cute pockets at the hip, and the length is just right. I’ve channelled the 70s vibe a bit here with some tan ankle boots from Topshop. I’m hoping it will look ok with tights and a big cardigan, as it’s not exactly bare-leg weather at the moment!

WIN_20150920_112545

Leave a Reply

