Banana Republic: 2 of my 5-a-day

Banana Republic has always been one of those stores that I’ve been aware of but never known much about. There aren’t may UK stores (and only 2 outside of London), so when I came across their store on 5th Avenue, New York last month, I took the opportunity to take a look around.

I’d barely got through the door when I spotted something I loved. A sister company of GAP, BR offers edgier items, but still with that classic ready-for-work look. Whilst GAP is great for basics and casuals, BR has a chic and trendy style about it, with clean lines and subtle colours, yet it’s in no way boring!

I couldn’t resist this drop-waist ruffle dress, it’s even got cute little pockets at the hip! At full price this was marked at $130 but it had 40% off, and with the exchange rate probably worked out about £50.

I also spotted this olive green (loving that colour at the moment) double pouch cross-body bag, $150, but again with 40% off, which I think is a pretty good deal for a leather bag.

I was rather pleased with myself when I left the store, particularly as my purchases came beautifully wrapped in tissue paper. I know it doesn’t make any difference to the item, but when you’re spending a fair bit of money it feels so much better to have the items packaged nicely. Not many shops I usually go in take that much care (usually just crumpled up in a plastic bag!).WIN_20151030_174958 WIN_20151030_175320

Now that I’ve moved in to my lovely new home, my aim is to fill my wardrobe with pieces that I love, just like these two, and get rid of all the rubbish that I’ve been clinging on to for years. Let’s see how that goes shall we?…..

3 thoughts on “Banana Republic: 2 of my 5-a-day

Leave a Reply

